ARC LS - Value?

obsessiv3

Newly Enlightened
Hello

I'm new to this version of the forum, but was a very active member in the early days when the original forum started. This was right when white LED's were coming out and even at a five lumen rating were very expensive. Not to mention that they were bluish-green and didn't last long.

When the Luxeon LED's started coming out, I purchased an ARC LS with the two AA and the 123A body to replace a Surefire I had at the time that I used for work. I also had an ARC AAA in grey HA, but it's long gone...

I thought I lost this flashlight at some point, then my 8 year old son dropped a small watch battery down beside the cushion of an overstuffed chair of ours. Hunting for it, I felt the LS and knew right away what it was. I had since threw away the 123A holder, but the AA body was there. Batteries were bad, but didn't explode (luckily) - I presume the thing was stuck there for two to three years.

Anyway - I replaced the batteries and it's good to go. The light is bright, centered, and has a very slight bluish tint to it.

I'm curious what this thing is worth (other than the 'what someone is willing to pay for it'). I've seen some wild prices on eBay for their 'tactical' model, but not this one. It is a first run #503 (not sure if they did a second run - I'm guessing they did) and is in excellent shape. The only 'issue' is that the foam anti-rattle gasket has been compressed some, but is still there and not torn or disintegrated.

Can someone help?

E

archimedes

Flashaholic
Hello, and welcome back :wave:

A search of auction sites, and the (now closed) CPF MarketPlace will give you some idea of values for vintage torches.

FYI, "price fishing" threads are not encouraged in the discussion forums ;)

Last edited:

obsessiv3

Newly Enlightened

A search of auction sites, and the (now closed) CPF MarketPlace will give you some idea of values for vintage torches.

No worries - previous username was Lightspeed.