EE error: IMR 14500 Nitecore

mrlightman

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys,

I am new to non-alkaline batteries.

I have Nitecore EA 11 flashlight and I was using Nitecore Ni14500A IMR 3.7V battery in it. I kept the battery inside the flashlight and went on a 3 week vacation. Since my return, my flashlight would not turn on. I figured the battery had died. So I decided to recharge it through Nitecore charger and I am getting a EE error and the battery does not charge at all. I never got this error before on this IMR battery. My flashlight continues to work with regular AA batteries.

What is going on? Have I over-discharged the battery? It means this battery is done and I have to throw it away?

Thanks in advance

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast
I suggest a cheap digital multi meter to test the voltage. Sounds dead. Drop it off at a recycle center like most cell phone stores or Best Buy. If not, dig a hole and stick it deep in. :)
When not in use, lock out the light either digitally or better yet Unscrew the tail cap to break the connection. Also, don't store charged batteries on the charger.

CelticCross74

Flashlight Enthusiast
overdischarged. When it comes to 14500's I always buy them in pairs and have the second as a charged back up. Do not know much about the NC IMR 14500. I am sure it is a good cell. There are some chargers that could possibly bring it back to life Idk if your NC has that capability sounds like it does not. Just got into IMR cells with a bunch of red Efests of different sizes and freaking love them they crank and so far seem to have above rated capacity. I did notice they drain out faster than average though. Not a IMR expert but that is my experience

hiuintahs

Flashlight Enthusiast