POTENTIAL DANGER?

Capolini

Banned
This is a Protected CYTAC 18650 3400mAh BT battery that I discovered is a NCR18650B RE WRAP. 2.8 years old.

I noticed that when I put this battery in the charger that it continues to slip off of the positive contact terminal. It seemed that the BT was out of alignment so I decided to re wrap it and center the little White retaining ring better. I could actually move the BT back and forth with my thumb nail. That can not be good,it should be stabilized and have no movement! This is when I decided to sacrifice the battery!When I unwrapped it there was the typical Panasonic NCR18650B underneath.

I proceeded to take off the NCR wrap to completely expose the battery. I took off the protection circuit on the bottom,so now the wire that leads to the positive contact was the only thing holding it.

I AM AN AMATEUR and a NOVICE WHEN IT COMES TO ELECTRONICS!:naughty:

At this point I decided to REMOVE/BREAK OFF the wire so that the protection circuit was not dangling and so I could get a better view as to why the BT was not stationary as it should be. So I got out my mini craftsmen screw driver! As soon as I tried to severe the wire connected at the BT end there was a small spark and a puff of smoke!:eek: No doubt I short circuited the battery,that was my first thought! Second thought was,,,,,,,,is this battery going to vent or possibly explode now?! I got a bit concerned and put the battery outside on my balcony. I was ready to go to bed and thought,"what if" this battery vents or explodes?! So I wrapped it up[afraid to recycle at this point!] and threw it in the DOGGY trash can that that is provided for the residents.So if there is a :poof: it will be far enough away from my Second story condo!!!

A FEW QUESTIONS:

1.With the BT being unstable what would have been the worst thing to happen if I continued to use and charge this battery? a SHORT or worse?