Root of Evil Bears Bitter Fruit

Dawg

Enlightened
I think we need to make it like it is on Star Trek.......No jobs, just utopia. Want a new flashlight or some other electronic dodad, just step up to the replicator.

CodeOfLight

Newly Enlightened
We already are in an "Intellocracy". Those who retain the intellectual capacity to think for themselves, and to come up with new and better ways of doing things will rule the world. I do not mean rule as in the way a king rules. I mean rule economically. I have a standard of living far above the average because I have learned a LOT of things in my life on my own. I still do. I still cannot even explain what I do for a living to 80% of the public in any but the most general terms. That percentage is growing. I speak with a lot of young people who do not know the very basics of physics, chemistry, or history. These are things they should have learned in the 5th grade. Now they let them out of high school with a diploma with that level of knowledge or below. There is not a shortage of jobs out there. I personally have conducted many job interviews for programmer type position in my company. Many of them had MASTERS DEGREES in CS. They knew next to NOTHING about the subject. I had to drag the most rudimentary answers to questions out of them. We turn those people down, yet I am sure that they will be out there telling everybody about the shortages of positions with someone of thier skills and credentials. Ironically, this is the exact truth. We simply do not fill the position until we find somebody who has the skills necessary. The job remains open. Twenty years ago, anyone with a masters in CS would have been a shoe in for the job. With the continuous slide in the standards of our educational system, this is not true anymore. In fact, I cannot pick out candidates from resumes any longer. Candidates routinely lie and fabricate experience on them. We had a candidate once tell us that "database" was practically his middle name.