Wallet / smartphone form factor, 1000+ lumens, lightweight, tiny runtime - thoughts?

danjcla

Newly Enlightened
I'm looking for something lightweight (say under 110 grams) with 1000+ lumens. Batteries can last on the order of minutes. Light can strobe to avoid overheating and/or to take advantage of battery's initial burst spec output amps. My "Allett EcoThin Original Wallet" is 127mm x 95mm x 9mm, 64g (all with stuff in it). Those are the rough specs I'm going for; so my flashlight and the wallet together would be about as thick and heavy as a leather bifold wallet (perhaps with some change in it).

As far as I can tell there isn't anything like this on the market, even in a normal cylindrical form factor. If anyone knows of anything in any form factor, commercial or even custom / previous DIY, please let me know; I've searched a lot and not found.

Failing it already existing, and keeping in mind I'm a newbie and the purpose of this post is to a large extent "is this foolish to even try / will I just be flushing money down the toilet" for ~1200 lumens for ~10 minutes, how does this look?

• Battery: I think the need for high (~3 amps) current draw on a tiny, probably three to low four digit mAh total battery supply will be an issue, perhaps high power Polymer Li-Ion / lipo rechargeables are the only choice here? Like "Polymer Li-Ion Cell: 3.7V, 750mAh (603048-10C), 2.7Wh, 7.5A rate - UN38.3 Passed" from batteryspace. $4.95, 50mm x 30.5mm x 6.0mm, 17g each.
  • Lamp: "Cree XLamp XP-L High Density LED Star" from ledsupply. $6.99, 20mm diameter x 1.5mm board thickness (LED +2.68mm)
  • Heat sink / case back: F4185 '1/8" X 3" 6061 Aluminum Flat' custom cut to 3" from metalsdepot. $3.79, 3.175mm x 76.2mm x 76.2mm, 50g.