Looking for a "thrower"

Ok my primary flashlights are the 4sevens quarks, however I have come to the conclusion that HID lights are better throwers. I work for the railroad and I need some good range, Im talking like 1000-2000 foot+ range. I work in a railyard at night and need to be able to see cars up to a half mile away and my little 1aa quark wont cut it for that. I am looking for waterproof and somewhat compact, 18650 compatiblity would be a plus. I am new to the HID world so please give me some recomendations.

MontanaMan

Newly Enlightened
I think you are correct with regards to HID lights still being king of throw, but not for much longer. I have both the Olight SR95 Intimidator and the SR95UT. Both lights are off the shelf production lights, and have more than enough throw for your needs. The UT version has a lower lumen output, but the beam is extremely focused, and easily lights up the mountain behind my house while we scan for big predators. We've been having Mountain Lion problems, but that is another story. Anyhow The Ultimate Throw version of the light uses a Luminous SBT-90 chip and can throw farther than you need. I have only had these lights for a few weeks, but I use them everyday. The only problem is the need to be waterproof. The SR95s are only IPX-6 rated. It can get wet, they even show it being dunked in the advertisements, but I wouldn't want to use it underwater.

However, if you want an HID light I'd look at this:
http://www.magnalight.com/p-46963-h...-lumen-3550-watt-hid-handheld-or-mounted.aspx

I wouldn't buy one only because I'm sure that within the next few years, LED flashlights will be able to beat this, and the cost is quite high on this beast.

JacobJones

Enlightened