Converting lux to lumen

MikePL

Newly Enlightened
Being a photographer, I have a professional light meter which also measures light in luxes. How should I multiply or divide the quantity of lux units in order to get lumens.

1 lx = 1 lm/m2

But no datasheet of LEDs shows lumens per square meter, there are just lumens.

I have found this conversion but I also get weird results, no matter what I convert to.
http://www.unitconversion.org/unit_converter/illumination.html

For example, my room is lit by a 23W Philips bulb (tungsten). The meter shows 12lx from a 1m distance. When I try to convert it, I get:

12 lumen/m2
0.0012 lumen/cm2
etc...

My room is quite big and I don't believe that a 12lm/m2 LED will replace my 23W bulb (equivalent to a 100W filament bulb).

So what's the deal with this conversion? I would like to perform some experiments but I simply don't know what are these lumens without any suffix. All the lumens I get are 'per square something'

Delta

Enlightened
Speaking of...I noticed the other day at the store that they are starting to put lumens ratings on light bulbs. They had one...I think it was a 100W bulb that said 3000 lumens, or something ridiculous like that.

I figured I'd just send a batch of thse to the Army, so they could save money on those Surefire Hellfighter lights.

Maybe they use a similar conversion?

amanichen

Enlightened
Lumens is a light quantity, and lux is a light quantity over an area (luminous flux.) They are two different measurements and there is no direct conversion.

robm

Enlightened
Speaking of...I noticed the other day at the store that they are starting to put lumens ratings on light bulbs. They had one...I think it was a 100W bulb that said 3000 lumens, or something ridiculous like that.

I figured I'd just send a batch of thse to the Army, so they could save money on those Surefire Hellfighter lights.

Maybe they use a similar conversion?