recommendation for rear light

Redeeman

Newly Enlightened
Hello.

I was wondering if anyone can come with a good recommendation for a rear light, i think something that blinks would be preferred as it is legal in my country, and generally people claim to be able to notice it more.

rac

Newly Enlightened
I've been using the Cateye TL-LD1100 for a couple of years. Very good visibility from what people are telling me, decent battery life (the 50 hours in the specs sound about right) and it's versatile: the two rows are independently controlled, so you can even set one to continuous and one to blink for better visibility. I can't comment on how well it handles water since I've only ridden it in the rain 10 times or so (it worked fine).​

Savvas

Enlightened
Redeeman,

Have a look at the rear light thread(s) from 2011-12. Lots of informed discussion and recommendations there regarding upper-end rear lights. As well as dynamo lights, I use DesignShine, the Super Flash, a Tioga 'twin eye' (excellent budget light), a tiny Exposure Flash and the outstanding Niteflux Red Zone 4. All are great rear lights - it just depends on how much you want to spend. Even the Magicshine rear tail light works well and can be good value from the right supplier.

Savvas

Bobblehat

Newly Enlightened
Another vote for the Cateye TL-LD1100 especially if you going to use it a lot on the road. Not blindingly bright, but brighter than many and has a big "illuminated area" and very good brightness from all angles around to and beyond 90 degrees to the rear. Proved totally rain proof enough for Northern English weather over several years now and decent run time on 2 x AA Nimhs.