Wiring LEDs with differing voltage/current

Darkslide632

Newly Enlightened
I'm a total newbie when it comes to this stuff, but I'm working on my kiddo's Halloween costume and had some questions about wiring two different types of LEDs together to a single on/off switch.

As of right now I'm using 4 x 5mm Super Ultra-bright white LEDs:

• Forward voltage: 3.4 VDC (typ), 4.0 V (max)
  • Peak forward current: 70 mA
  • Average forward current: 30 mA

and 6 x 5mm Ultra-bright blue:

• Forward voltage: 3.4 VDC (typ), 4.0 V (max)
  • Peak forward current: 30 mA
  • Average forward current: ?

I want them to turn on using a single switch, but I'm not sure how to calculate what I need. If I wire it in 5 arrays of 2 LEDs each, using a 9v to power it, would I simply wire the SUB Whites in pairs with the appropriate resistors, and then the blues in pairs with the appropriate resistors? Ideally, at least for ease of putting things together, I'd drop to eight LEDs and the white LEDs would be wired in pairs, and the blues in sets of 3... but I can't make the wizard do that, and obviously I'm clueless :)

Thanks for the help!

bshanahan14rulz

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think you are going in the right direction with making 2-LED strings, each string with its own resistor, and putting all strings parallel so that you can control them all with one switch. You cannot use 3 LED strings, though, because in series the Vf adds up to be 10.2V, which is more than your 9V battery can supply. This is probably why the wizard won't let you do that.

Perhaps this will help you think this through: A white LED is simply a blue LED with phosphor slathered on it. Electrically, they are the same thing.