Hard had lights? Does anyone make one? (not a miners light though)

jeff000

Newly Enlightened
I've been looking for a light to mount on my hard hat, something light and bright.
I'm not looking for something that is my only light source, like what a miner would wear. I'm an electrician, so sometimes need to do work in the dark. Be it above a ceiling, or just in a way where the main light is blocked by myself, or the times where the power is out and I have to work on something.

I've always figured there should be a light that mounts in the ear tabs holes on the hard had, but can not find anything. I've tried like most do and just put a normal head lamp on the hard had, but it's never aimed right and doesn't stay put.

Does anyone have a suggestion?

I carry a stream light stylus pro right now, and it's great, nice and bright, battery lasts a long time, and it has taken some serious abuse, but zip tieing it to my hard hat is far from optimal.

Thanks.

Bolster

Flashlight Enthusiast
Firemen and military use helmet-attachable lights. Foxfury lights, and the SureFire military helmet light come to mind.

I attach Zebralights and Sparks to my hard hats just using the elastic band, and they stay put just fine.

There's also a strap retainer for hard hats, maybe someone will post it.

What do you mean by a "hard had?" I'm not familiar with that phrase.

Last edited:

Outrider

Newly Enlightened
Take a look at the Pelican 2710 and the 2720. The oil and ship workers love these.

outrider

LGT

Enlightened
Streamlight also has headlamps. Many of them come with an elastic head strap and a rubber hard hat strap which works quite well, even in wet weather. The Utility company I work for issues them and most of my co-workers like them. Depending on what model you get, cost is about twentyfive to thirtyfive dollars. :welcome:

Last edited:

Flashlight Enthusiast
usually ANY flashlight with a rear-facing clip, or reversible clip

you can then attach the light to the straps or lid