Amateur Radio

Hornet

Newly Enlightened
I am looking to take the technician test next month and I was wondering about my first radio. I have been looking at the Yaesu FT-60R or the VX-6R. I am new to the hobby and have no idea what many of the additional fetchers included with the VX-6R are or even if they are needed. I would like any input you might have.

The VX-6R
Around $250
RX .5-729MHz 803-999MHz
TX 144-148MHz 222-225MHz 430-450MHz
Submergible
AA Battery pack transmits at .3Watt TX very short run time

The FT-60R
Around $200
RX 108-520MHz 700-999MHz
TX 144-148MHz 430-450MHz
AA Battery pack transmits at full strength Good runtime

The FT looks real good because of the AA battery pack. I like the VX because of the RX range submergible and the 3rd TX range. Which should I get

Radio

Modulated Moderator
Forget about the AA packs if you are going to transmit at all, they don't last long on either radio, my recomedation is to step up to the Kenwood TH-F6, gets you back on the 220 band and gives you full 5 watts out on all three bands and tremendous extended recv including HF SSB, I own 4 of them now it is mt EDC HT and has become my favorite and I have over 50 HT's alone so that says a lot.

Malpaso

Enlightened
Go to www.eham.net and look at the reviews of various radios, as well as posts as to whether to get a handheld or mobile as your first radio.

Good luck on your test. There are plenty of on-line test you can take for practice as well.

magic79

Enlightened
The two radios you have narrowed your search to are good ones.

Personally, I would not buy a Kenwood. I own a small antenna manufacturing company, and Kenwood has been showing fewer and fewer radios at smaller and smaller booths at hamfests over the last 2-3 years. At Pacificon in the Bay Area in October, they had a small booth on Saturday, and then grabbed their stuff Sunday morning and left before the show opened! I don't think Kenwood plans on being in the amateur market much longer.