6P to 12P mod

Newly Enlightened
I had been thinking of this simple mod for a little while. I have a SF 6P with the rechargable option, 6R. I always thought I could drop 4 123's and have a 12 volt light. I just needed a 12 V bulb. I was going to attempt to find a 12 V bi pin bulb and fit it (pot it?) into an old blown SF bulb.

Then this morning I looked at the cabelas ad and saw they had a 12 XPG flashlight. Looks like a SF knockoff. I looked at the spare bulb and it sure looks like a SF right down to the little sticker on it.

I could be wrong but does SF even make a 12v lamp that would fit my 6P? I don't think so. I'm sure someone has some experiance with the Cabelas flashlights and would know if the lamps fit the same.

Keep in mind I'm pretty new to this modding thing. I only "modified" my Magcharger to the MC60. This migh be a small step up from that. I don't want to use the word modify and offend you guy that are doing amazing things with your lights. I gotta start somewhere. Plus the main purpose of my SF 6R is as a back up for police work. For now I need to keep it simple, reliable, and easy to convert back to the other configurations.

Thinking ahead though, how hot would a bulb using 4 CR123's get and could the 6P handle that? Any ideas where I could get a bulb for that?

Thanks for all your help.

ofcjim40

Newly Enlightened