In need of a Powerful Mountain Bike Night Light

harez23

Newly Enlightened
Ive signed up for a 24 hour mountain bike race, so a powerful light is neccessary. Im interested in the prospects of an LED light to use, which has the benifits of being very small, light, bright, and uses only minimal battery power. This light needs to be able to light up a trail at least 10 to 15 meters ahead as the trails are pitch black out in the forest. Thank you, any advice would be great.

Kevin, London Ontario

turbodog

Flashaholic
Well, this is a hobby of mine. I've been doing 24 hr mtn bike races for ~6 years now, and I night-ride actively for ~15 years. After using led and incan, I'll say that led is the LAST thing I would use.

The color temp does a pitiful job of bringing out the browns/reds. The throw is usually lacking. And the watts used per lumens produced are usually worse than a good halogen bulb.

See my avatar? Go to www.turbocatusa.com

Get a bar and helmet light. The bar makes good shadows which are critical for depth perception, and the helmet lets you check out switchbacks/etc.

Ebay is a good place to find these lights are a reasonable discount. Just make sure you're buying the current version; compare the photos to the mfg web site.

And to those that will chime in after me.... he said RACE, not RIDE. When you're hauling butt down a rutted hill at 25+ mph, trying to see where the trail turns, you NEED plenty of light. And don't believe this crap about dark-adapted eyes. See how much good *that* does you after someone with the turbo-lightzilla setup blasts by you and scorches your retinas.

Paul_in_Maryland

Flashlight Enthusiast