Which Magmod to do?

Aaron1100us

Enlightened
Hello, I'm still fairly new to all this but I think I've got the lumen bug:) I recently got a 24 w AE powerlite and now I need something brighter. I love to tinker with stuff and build things. I've been studying about these mag mods that I keep reading about but can't decide which one to do. All I know is that it has to out throw my 24w AE Powerlight. Run time isn't a great big deal but 20 minutes would be nice. Do I need to start with a mag 2,3 or 6 D cell? I've read about some of the reflector, battery, lense, regulator and switch upgrades but not sure which ones to use? Is there any way I could get a list of parts and a general idea on how to put it together? Also, what is the ballpark $ of one of these? Is there anything else I should look at to learn more about doing this? How easy are these to build? Thanks

CLHC

Flashaholic
Hello Aaron!

These Maglite mods caught my attention too. I have no idea what's what, so instead I bought a turn-key Mag.11|74. The simple "upgrade" I did was with the MagCharger. All I did was purchase the Welch~Allyn 01160 from Litho123 and replaced the "stock" Maglite Rechargeable bulb with it. That was all!

As you may already know, Light-Edge.Com sells the Mag.85 and the parts (I think) for it.

Hope you find what you're looking for and Enjoy!

Aaron1100us

Enlightened
Thanks for the reply. Can the mag85 out throw my AE? The bulb that they use on that site is rated at 817 lumens, I wonder if you can use a bigger bulb with that set up or if you will need different batteries and other things. I'd like to do the M100r but not sure how stable it would be.

CLHC

Flashaholic
I know that the Mag.85 is Plenty BRIGHT as indicated by personal "seeing" experience and the photos that are posted here on CPF. I don't recollect the Lumen output though. I'm sure the "hotwired" Mag Modders here will respond soon enough.

Lurveleven

Flashlight Enthusiast