New to the forum. Question on SF G2.

Terry M

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone.

I've been lurking for about a week or two and finally decided to register.
I work as a serviceworker for our local water company and am constantly getting myself into dark, dank places. Currently I use a 2 AA minimag with an LED mod for my work. That's ok, but I've noticed that it just doesn't have the throw that I really need. Obviously from reading on here I understand why now.
I'm looking at purchasing the SF G2 as my first "real" flashlight. I think it really matches my needs (for now :grin2: ) Now on to my question. I'm curious. Lots of the work I do is up close work and I see that Surefire sells an optional Beamshaper which diffuses the high output to a wide angle beam for this type of up close work. Now what I wonder is do I really need the beamshaper? If I don't get it, will the light just be to darn bright for me to use on up close work?
I know that I could carry both the G2 for the far away needs and the LED moded Mag for the up close work, but I'd prefer not to.
Anyway, have any of you used this beamshaper on the G2? Is it combursome? Does it impede the quick and easy use of the flashlight?

Any and all comments and suggestions are welcome.
Thank you very much for taking the time to read and answer my question.

carrot

Flashaholic
From pictures I've seen, it makes the Surefire G2 huge and tanklike. You might also want to look into the Streamlight Propolymer 4AA Luxeon (or 2C). Not as sexy as the Surefire, but it has a good amount of throw as well. I'll try and dig up a picture, but no guarantees. :)

Edit: Found what I was looking for.
goodshotoftheg2.jpg

Thread that it came from.
It's wearing a Minimag anti-roll bezel on the back end, in case you're wondering.

Welcome to CPF, Terry Monk, enjoy your stay, and hang onto your wallet!