Help for a "Newbie", Please

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Hello All,

I've been reading the forums here for some time and the thought of modifying a light intrigues me greatly but I have little knowledge of how to go about it. Can anyone offer any information on where to go for supplies, how to's, tools needed, etc.? I currently have an old Mini-Mag that's been stripped years ago before I acquired it, and would like to know if that's a good one to start with? Any help on this matter will be greatly apprecaited.

Thank you all for your time,

Pat

EMPOWERTORCH

Enlightened
You can buy replacement front ends for your minimag, some made by members of this forum.
If you want to start from scratch though, go to a car-boot-sale or garage sale and pick up some old torches to modify to LED.
I started my LED torch collection like this, by being given an old torch with a defunct bulb.
The LED's and resistors are available through a variety of sources, mail order internet and high street shops.
The easiest way to mod a torch is to mod the bulb with an LED and resistor. There are lots of web sites covering this subject, dogpiling on "LED Light bulb" should net you a number of sites.

Saaby

Flashaholic
They have Car-boot-sales there? That's cool. That would be the American equivilant of a "trunk" sale.
grin.gif

I like tyres
smile.gif

Slick

Flashlight Enthusiast
You'll want a quality DVOM and soldering iron as well as a "hobby" tool set (that contains smaller tools for working on smaller projects). A Dremel moto-tool, metal snips, and some files will aid in making heatsinks & other custom parts. A small vise, clamps, clips or "helping hands" come in handy during assembly. Also get both slow-cure and 5min epoxy along with some Arctic Silver.

I shop at metal surplus stores for pieces of various metals to make heatsinks. Surplus hardware & eletronics stores are where I find most of the consumables used for modding flashlights.