Newbie Question....

Aiki1

Newly Enlightened
Hi everybody - I'm new to this whole thing, and starting out by trying to buy a simple inexpensive "home laser show" that has some ability to manipulate the patterns etc.... does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks.

Aiki1

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the replys - I wish I had some skill or experience in basic electronics but I don't.... that looks like a fun kit....

Is it easy to replace the laser in an inexpensive unit with a slightly more powerful one?

Thanks.

Aiki1

Newly Enlightened
Very cool. anyone know if simple units like the Laser Widow are any good, and give you any control over the patters etc.?

jkaiser3000

Enlightened
The laser widow is basically two motors with mirrors attached, with the benefit of having some sort of sound activated electronics, so the patterns change to the beat of music. The thing is, you, as the user, don't have acces to the patterns generated (I think). Also, it only produces spirograph-like petterns. But, for the price you can't go wrong.

In the end, you can also change the laser that comes with it with your own, so you end with a higher powered, green laser show :naughty:.

Aiki1

Newly Enlightened
Ah - thanks - I think I'll get one or something like it and tinker - how do these things stay on for long periods of time without burning out - APC or something? Any idea what you can replace the lasers with - are they just a little module like in a pointer?

Thanks everyone for your input.

jkaiser3000

Enlightened
these things usually have 5mw lasers inside, no problems running indefintely. You can use any green pointer for this too, as long as you find a way of powering it from the internal power supply and, proper cooling if needed. You may want to take the laser module from the pointer's case, but that's not necesary, just put a rubber band across the pointer's button and place the wires into the battery compartment.

My thoughts.

emrbrtn

Enlightened
allthatwhichis said: