The supplied flashlights at my place of work

simonsays

Newly Enlightened
I work as a senior nurse in the O.R. department (Operating theatre to those of you from the UK) of a fair sized general hospital. My place of work is quite large consisting of 9 operating rooms with all of the associated office space/consulting rooms and storage space. During a night shift we turn most of the lights off, usually just keeping one O.R lit and a single bay in the recovery room.
This makes for good working conditions if you are a budding flashaholic
naughty.gif
A straight 50m corridor and lots of totally dark 'whitewall' rooms. I couldnt ask for more!

Anyway, I decided to investigate the departments emergency lighting situation. Obviously the hospital has a back up generator which kicks in in event of a power failure, it takes about 5 seconds to react and is tested frequently. However this power is for essential use only and leaves office/storage space in the proverbial dark. Since many of our rooms do not have windows the hospital has kindly supplied some torches for us to use.

There can be up to 60 workers in my department at any one time

Guess how many flashlights. Go on, have a guess.

Nope, not that many.

Two. Two flashlights. Unbelievable.
yellowlaugh.gif

Two 6v lanterns, one of which had a leaky battery and didnt work at all and the other one produced the ghost of a beam for about 30 seconds before fading totally. Hmmmm.
With a bit of a sigh I realised that the department actually had at least 4 working flashlights within its walls, all of them mine. 2 on my person, one in my bag and one in my locker.
Hell, looks like I'm the 'flashlight guy'
awman.gif

I'm going to try and convince the bean counters that a modest investment in some torches may just help to avert a tragedy. At the very least I'll get two replacement lanterns sorted out
touche.gif