Help! Surefire 6p won't turn on.

browneyes

Newly Enlightened
Newbie here :stupid: need some help. I have been using my new 6p for a few days and now it won't turn on. I made sure everything is where it should be. I believe that the advertised run life is about an hour and I think I may have used it for that long but I thought the light would gradually get dimmer and then turn off. For some reason it will not turn on at all. Do I need to get new batteries or is this a bigger problem? :thanks:

Stream

Enlightened
Sounds like you just need new batteries; lithium cells have a much more sudden drop-off than alkaline batteries.

SCblur

Enlightened
there's no way to know without a little experimentation. If you have some spare batteries and a spare lamp assembly, those would be the two most likely culprits. Try swapping out the batteries first. If that doesn't work, try a new Lamp. It's probably one of those. If all you have are spare batteries, and those don't light it up, call SF customer service and they'll probably send you a new lamp. Also, make sure all of the metal contacts are clean.

Welcome to CPF!

citizenal

Newly Enlightened
Yeah, I would try new batteries, and then I would to to batterystation and buy a lot of spares. Your going to need them. :)

browneyes

Newly Enlightened
Are rechargeable batteries an option for the surefire 6p?

Yeah I think the batteries are the culprit but I was a little surprised that it just simply turned off without a warning.. :ohgeez:

I saw some cheap rechargeable 123A battery combos for about $25-30. These come in like a 4-pack of batteries + charger. I plan on buying a Fenix P1 in the near future so would buying rechargeable batteries be a good move?

PS. I also saw somewhere that somebody was selling batteries like those mentioned above on the CPF forum.

roguesw

Enlightened
browneyes, be carefull of Rechargaeble batteries,
most of them are 3.7 volts and when they come off the
charger they are 4.2 volts