Netflix or Blockbuster?

Wireman

Newly Enlightened
I've been using Netflix for many years, I became a member not long after they started. I've been pretty happy with their service, their selection is excellent. However, I have noticed that sometimes it takes a little long for them to post that they received a DVD back, or to ship a new one out. There have been lawsuits over this, they called it "throttling".

Blockbuster now offers a similar system, pretty much a copy of Netflix. I don't like the way they copied Netflix's excellent idea, but that's life. Blockbuster has similar prices but they also offer a couple free DVD rentals from your local store which is very nice for on the spot renting which would be perfect tonight since there's nothing on TV and my next DVD from Netflix is 2 days away.

So who uses Blockbuster's mail service? How is it? Anything I should know before trying them out?

Thanks!

cd-card-biz

Enlightened
Been a BB subscriber in So. Cal. for about 2-years. With my 3 at-a-time by mail rentals, I also get 1 free new release (in store) rental coupon each week.

Their service has been pretty good. However, they messed up recently when I ordered the first DVD in a "series". They sent me the correct envelope with the *wrong* disc in it 6-times! They did give me lots of free rental coupons for my trouble, and I'm happy.

It usually takes 1-2 days to receive a movie if it's in stock.

I find it an interesting task to try to evaluate movies before ordering them on-line. Some of the films I like are obscure. For reviews I generally rely on www.rottentomatoes.com Where do you go for reviews?

Bill

nerdgineer

Flashlight Enthusiast