Unique Titanium
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Surefire A2 Question

  1. #1
    Flashaholic LawLight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Lone Star State
    Posts
    346

    Default Surefire A2 Question

    Greetings all:

    I'm not sure if this is the correct forum for this question - feel free to move it if needed, but can anyone advise why Surefire changed from the 4 sided A2 to the rounded body? Anything other than just because they wanted to make a change?

    Thanks,

    Kev

  2. #2
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    448

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    Probably easier to make. Also, I think it looks better.

    -Dan

  3. #3
    *Flashaholic* greenLED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    La Tiquicia
    Posts
    13,244

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    I actually like the square body much better.

  4. #4
    *Flashaholic* carrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    8,960

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    Quote Originally Posted by greenLED
    I actually like the square body much better.
    Me too.

    (Okay, back to vacation! Don't expect me around for the next few days.)
    [gearcarrot.com] Collector and distributor of (mis)information.
    The Guide to High-End Lights | Flashlight Story Collection updated Sept 28
    CPF Specials | 4sevens | LED Testing | EDCF | #cpf

  5. #5
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    448

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    It looks like it has a lot more grip. I have the round version and it is not that grippy, but it looks cool.



    Quote Originally Posted by greenLED
    I actually like the square body much better.

    -Dan

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* Blindasabat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,190

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    I have a rounded A2 and a flat sided L1. I like the round sided better because it just fits my hand better. From certain angles, the flat sided L1 looks too thin, and I fear the thin area in the middle of the flat may dent more easily. But I admit I haven't actually measured the distance across flats to see if it is thinner than the rounded walls.
    I think the tube size used to make it (outer diameter of the starting tube) is smaller and requires less machining (less material removed in 3 vrs 4 places) for faster production, but I doubt that makes a very big cost difference.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    I spoke with a (Dustin) at Surefire, about a month ago, who told me that it was actually more difficult to machine the smooth surfaces on the rounded model than it was to machine the flat surface on the old one. He called it a refinement.

  8. #8
    Thread Killer Illum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,543

    Ooo Re: Surefire A2 Question

    Quote Originally Posted by carrot
    Me too.

    (Okay, back to vacation! Don't expect me around for the next few days.)
    what the @#$%?
    all this time I thought your somewhere else...say Canton, Connecticut visiting wild carrot farms....

  9. #9
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    340

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    In my opinion, the square bodies version seems more "refined." Not sure why, I guess it's just personal preference. I've never seen a round one in person.
    Arc-AAA-P, G2, A2, L4, HDS EDC Rotary, Olight SR51

  10. #10
    Flashaholic* Blindasabat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,190

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    I measured my two different versions and the outer diameter is the same at about 22mm, so no smaller tube with the new design. The 4-flats is 18.5mm across flats, removing 1.75mm per cut, the 3-rounded flats removes 0.7mm.
    The resulting thinnest wall is thicker in the new version.

  11. #11
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    361

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    i have one a2 question: does anyone know how to dissassemble the tailcap for cleaning? i cant seem to find any pics/instructions

  12. #12
    *Flashaholic* greenLED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    La Tiquicia
    Posts
    13,244

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    js's A2 thread has instructions on how to do it. Part of it says you gotta break some part of it off, so I haven't done it.

  13. #13
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    361

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    ill need to go through that long discussion again. so there essentailly is no way to "clean" the contacts in the tailcap!?

  14. #14
    *Flashaholic* greenLED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    La Tiquicia
    Posts
    13,244

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    I use toothpicks wrapped in little bits of paper towel, and repeat, and repeat, and repeat, and...

  15. #15
    Flashaholic* Somy Nex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    746

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    the older A2s had a very tight fit for batteries and not much tolerance. this is especially true for the black limited editions (ymmv).

    the newer round bodied A2s are said to have more tolerance adn some have even been able to fit rcr123s in them. again, ymmv. =P
    Somy Nex

  16. #16
    Flashaholic LawLight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Lone Star State
    Posts
    346

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    Yes, that's true. My new round bodied A2 has a very slight bit of space in the body so that the batteries rattle just a tiny bit when shaken if the tail cap is off. But if one uses rcr123s in them, would you not have to replace the lamp with a different one to handle the difference?

    Kev

  17. #17
    Flashaholic* dragoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    421

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    Hi,

    The A2 uses a voltage regulator, so the extra voltage from the rechargables should be okay......the light just might get a little hotter than normal from dissipating the extra heat.

    You will not get longer runtimes using rechargables though.....

    dragoman
    EDC - varies

    Lights - all sold except for my P1, D2 w/ Cree drop in, Cabelas 12V Turbohead and assorted generic lights

  18. #18

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    The more knurled surfaces the better, I say. That's one of the only things that annoys me about my U2 -- more than half of the body tube is flat. There is actually more knurling shaved off than was left on!

  19. #19
    Flashaholic LawLight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Lone Star State
    Posts
    346

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    But won't the rcr's overdrive the leds? I've read horror stories about A2 leds changing tint from constant overdriving.

    Kev

  20. #20
    *Flashaholic* greenLED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    La Tiquicia
    Posts
    13,244

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    Quote Originally Posted by LawLight
    But won't the rcr's overdrive the leds? I've read horror stories about A2 leds changing tint from constant overdriving.

    Kev
    Yes, they do. You'd have to change the resistors.

  21. #21
    Flashaholic* leukos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    3,436

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    Quote Originally Posted by LawLight
    But won't the rcr's overdrive the leds? I've read horror stories about A2 leds changing tint from constant overdriving.

    Kev
    Horror stories?
    Light is sweet and pleasing to the eyes....

  22. #22
    Flashaholic LawLight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Lone Star State
    Posts
    346

    Default Re: Surefire A2 Question

    Well - horror stories watching white leds turn different shades after spending $159. on a light...

    Kev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •