How many lumens for caving?

batman

Enlightened
Hi everyone!

I know this has probably been hit on previously here @ CPF but the search function only brings up headlamp discussions.
I occasionally get invites to explore caves near the Arkansas river with my friends in Muskogee, Oklahoma. The caves aren't really mapped out and are basically untouched inside..i'm pretty sure not many people go in them.
Anyhoo, I recall from childhood that it's perfectly pitch black as hell once you crawl up in a cave so in theory it shouldn't require TOO many lumens to do the job, right? Would the 3-5 lumen output of the Arc AAA-P / A2 aviator LED be enough light?
Any comments appreciated,..I know I should use a headlamp but I'm a redneck.
Batman

scott.cr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not very experienced as far as caving goes, but I do go "mining" in the Mojave when I can. It is black-dark in the mines, as I expect it is in natural caves, but it seems that even in this environment I just can't get enough lumens: My carry light of choice is the Thor Cyclops! Might seem like overkill for such a dark environment, but it's great for illuminating things that stick out of the ceiling of tunnels (which can be real headknockers even at walking speed).

Also, the Thor is good for spotting down long shafts, drops, etc. It might be too cumbersome for a real hard-core caver though. But that huge, bright flood light is hard to beat.

I also bring a few backup lights; Surefire U2 clipped to my vest (which makes a great walking light due to its floody nature), Surefire M4 and 6P on my belt as further backup. The M4 is bright, but a bit too spotty for my liking when it's the only source of light.

paulr

Flashaholic