10 million candle power V's costco 30 million cp query

supersharpshoot

Newly Enlightened
Hi,
I'm a newbee so be gentle!
I'm just getting into the hid idea. I've got a 10 million candle power halogen torch 12v 100w halogen bulb, which is quite good but the battery only lasts about 15-20 minutes. How would the costco 30 million candle power hid torch compare to mine regarding beam throw and battery life? thanks

LGCubana

Enlightened
You have a couple of bulb alternatives for your existing unit:

1. Dropin a Sylvania SilverStar bulb. The high setting will be either 65w or 60w; depending on what type of stock bulb comes in your 10mcp

2. 35w HID

I'm going the route of the HID upgrde to my 15mcp Thor Platinum.

monkeyboy

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello supersharpshoot

Welcome to CPF :).

You'll find that HID lights generally have much greater battery life than similar brightness halogen equivalents due to being more efficient (usually about 3-5 times more efficient). When comparing lights, remember that "candlepower" is a measure of beam intensity (throw) not overall light output.

waynejitsu

Enlightened
off topic, kinda.
I bought a Thor, 10 million CP.
I have a cheap 1 or 2 mil CP already.

I thought WOW!!! This will really put out!
My old light is far brighter, better throw, better flood and no bat wings or artifacts.

I returned the Thor, REALLY disappointed!

Anyone know of a "real" good HID?

bexteck

Enlightened
Its not completely clear in your post, but if you are thinking that the 10mil CP light that you bought is an HID, it is not. Only the ones labeled 30mil CP are HID.

Also, another general note on candlepower. The claims of many manufacturers are very inflated. It is very possible that the manufacturer of your 1-2mil CP light did not inflate their numbers and the manufacturer of the 10mil CP light highly inflated theirs, making the lights very close in light output.

waynejitsu said:
off topic, kinda.
I bought a Thor, 10 million CP.