Need Miller Mod Arc-AAA advice

RobbW

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to flashlights and don't understand much of the technical aspects of lights. I have an A2 and 2 Arc-AAAs, one Premium 4th generation and one P 5th generation. I'd like to get my Arc's modded by Miller, but don't understand the power output levels.

Here's what (I think) I would like:

P 5th gen--this is a move-about-the-house, find the bathroom in a strange house/hotel, and reading light. I would like it to have a nice, smooth, flood beam with realistic color. I need only one power level on this light. I don't think runtime is all that important a factor, since it is a house light and I'll have powerful rechargeable batteries close at hand. What is the best power for reading/moving around the house?

Premium 4th gen--I understand the head on this is deeper and makes for a better spotlight reflector mod. This is my keychain light, and I'd like enough power to find my way through a dark parking lot and clearly see all the potholes and black ice. I want a second setting to use for close up work and reading when necessary, but reading won't be the primary function. I don't know how to gauge the difference between .75, 1 or 1.5 watts. How bright are they and which power is best for parking-lot type duty? I don't think runtime on the low stage is a serious concern since the bright stage will be so short. I'd like appropriate brightness, not runtime to be the deciding factor. Realistic color will be a help with winter ice.

Finally, what about batteries? I saw the NiMH 90 (is it milli-watts?) was recommended when Miller first posted about the mod. I've since seen 100s? One any better than the other? Recommendations on brands or vendors? Rechargers? Would regular alkalines work on the low powered beam, say in an emergency/blackout situation, or would I be married to NiMH?

Sorry for all the questions. Like I said, I'm new to this and trying to come up to speed. Thanks for any help you could offer.