Zorro does purr, silently

oldgrandpajack

Enlightened
I've always thought my cat, Zorro, didn't purr. I can remember him purring twice, for maybe 5-10 seconds, when he was young. Haven't heard a purr since. Lately though, I've noticed he is vibrating like a cell phone set on vibrate. If my fingernails touch his teeth, I can feel the vibration. I can also feel the vibration, when I brush him on the throat, with the back of my fingers. Also, if I stop on his shoulder blades, when I'm petting him, I can feel the vibrations. Absolutely no sound though.

Zorro is my first and last cat, so I am not very experienced. Is this common? It's very satisfying, to know he must be content. Don't know what I would do, if Zorro wasn't in my life.

oldgrandpajack

Lee1959

Flashlight Enthusiast
Its not common as far as I know, and I have had a cat pretty much constantly as long as I can remember. I have had one cat who did that and it started rather oddly. I was petting the cat and it was purring very loudly when suddenly, the only way I can describe it is she made a shudder and then sounded "broken". Her purr sounded "backwards" is about the only way I can describe it. Next time she purred it was very very quiet but you could still feel it.

leduk

Enlightened
Sounds like your cat is happy. Very Low Frequency purr.

Another one is when they silent meow at you. They make the meow but no noise.

Cheers

goldenlight

Enlightened
I had a cat that was *almost* silent when she purred: if I put my ear very close to her mouth, I could just barely hear her purr when she breathed out.

But like your cat, she vibrated; especially in her throat and chest area.

She was a real sweetheart. She *always* came when I called her.

Sadly, she's been gone since 1999, after a long (16yr.) happy life.

I hope your kitty is with you for at least that long!

Empath

Flashaholic
It's not "the common" type purr, but it's not really rare either.