• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Considering doing my first Aleph Build, Some questions...

Lonely Raven

Newly Enlightened

I'm thinking about building an Aleph from scratch...well, a Cree Aleph to be exact. :)

While I'm pretty skilled with a soldering iron, and quite mechanically inclined, I've never built one of these high end lights before.

If I could get my hands on a Cree, are there enough parts available at the Shoppe for me to build everything myself? Say if I asked someone to prescribe to me the parts list for a successful build, and then just order and build it? Or is it too early in the game for me to be able to "One stop shop" this?

I'd really like to do this, but I'm not in the mood for spending $150+ in parts to build a LuxIII only to sell the light (probably at a loss) just to do it again with the emitter I really wanted. :)

If it helps any, I'm looking to basically build a 1.5X123 or 2X123 Aleph 19 with the Cree, and have two stage clickie. Beyond that, I'm such a newb I don't know where to go from here. J

Any help or suggestions?

vacuum3d

Enlightened
The worst part of building your own Aleph is that there ain't no more parts available to buy unless you're willing to pay thru the nose, and even then, you practically have to beg people to sell you the stuff you need.
The A19 is still available at the Shoppe as a complete light, the last time I looked. You might want to wait for the Cree XR-E becomes a regular offering. Assuming that you find all the parts you need, you end up paying about the same amount of money as the complete light plus the amount of time you put in.
If I may offer you one piece of advice, don't start modding because it is an addiction that drains away all your time and money. I really wish I hadn't found this forum.

ernest

Lonely Raven

Newly Enlightened