Are these light any good?

Fenris

Enlightened
I'm thinking about buying a couple of lights as extra Christmas presents for my Father and Brother-in-law, and I wanted to know if this was going to be worth the trouble or not.

I also thought about getting this one for a guy I work with, who would be more interested in runtime compared to tint or output.

Any experiences, or thoughts in general, would be much appreciated.

munkybiz_9881

Enlightened
I have one(the MX Power), not a bad light, but not great either.

The one I have throws a very blue beam and the led is badly off center

But the light itsef seems to be reliable so far......

Remember you're buying an eight dollar light.

I would go with the Ultra fire

RonM

Flashlight Enthusiast
I was very unhappy with the AAA version of the UltraFire. You can read about it here . However, I have no experience with the AA version.

greenLED

Flashaholic
If I may, I'd skip those and give out something with a little more track record. Minimags (in all their flavors), Fenix lights, UK's, etc. all make great gifts, and are not really too expensive, especially if you're giving them to "special" people in your family. Also consider how well the recipients will really appreciate a light, or if it's just something that thrills you. My 0.02 lumens.

flame2000

Enlightened
I've got one of the MX Power Nichia too. The workmanship cannot be compared to the Ultrafire lights. The MX Power threads are rough, the o-ring are very thin, the tail-cap switch is a bit too firm for my liking. The only consolation is that it came with a glass lens. Output is also a bit weak and bluish. Runtime on alkaline is about 1h45m (50%) before I noticed a drop in output.

If you are looking for something $20 or less, you would be better off with the Ultrafire 602A1 (VIPPA) which can be had for ~$18 at FifthUnit or the LumaPower LM301 at $20. BTW, both these lights are compatible with 3.6V Li-Ion 14500. :)