Archive/Reference - Candlepower versus Lumens

lightlover

Flashlight Enthusiast
The subject of Candlepower versus Lumens arises quite frequently.
The difference between the two forms of light output rating took me some time to understand. I studied the different comparisons and examples members gave, and then it *finally* sank in. This is a summary of the explanations that made most sense (to me personally).
There are a lot of other ways to make analogies, so perhaps members will post the examples that they like best, their preferred explanations. There are also some much more technical approaches, and plenty of people who understand them, so there's a good chance that we can get posts to suit every level of interest.

So, my contribution is:

Basically, a Candlepower measurement, (shortened to "CP") is done at a one single point in the beam, and is a brightness at that particular point.
While Lumen ratings, (shortened to "Lu") are a measurement of the total, whole amount of light produced across the entire beam.

A CP measurement is taken by placing a small sensor in the beam, usually choosing the "best", brightest little point. As far as I know, there isn't any standard for the distance from the light-giving lamp/lens/LED/thing, it's a question of the technician hunting out the most bright point whether at 10" or 100".

A Lumen measurement is taken by putting the light into or at the entrance of an "Integrating", or "Ulbricht" sphere. This is a spherical container with special highly-reflective paint inside, and a sensor system which picks up all the light from all angles. Then, the measurement is integrated to Lumens.

Just as an example of the relationship between the two, without pretending to any particular accuracy in the numbers chosen -

Let's say that a 1,000 Lumen beam, when tightly focused, could be rated at 250,000 CandlePower.