your oldest laser pointer

c0ldshadow

Newly Enlightened
i purchased a 5mW green laser pointer when i was in 8th grade from deharpportte trading company, which is now onpointlasers. it was 320 dollars at the time lol. amazing how for the same money i could get a 125mW laser now. to this day it is still my only laser and it works well still.

how long ago did some of you purchase green lasers and at what prices?

i have never been able to see the beam in the dark for my green laser pointer. i have heard some people say that a 5mW green should have a visible beam in the dark. is this true? i can only see the beam when there is some fog.

The_LED_Museum

*Retired*
I purchased my first *GREEN* laser pointer sometime in 2000; I believe it cost well over $200.00 US dollars. I bought it from somebody named Trash.

Red laser pointer...probably sometime in the early-1990s to use in a bar I worked as a bartender for. I remember purchasing a 670nm 3mW directly-injected diode laser pointer for at least a couple of hundred dollars.

I have neither unit at present. I'm not certain what happened to the red one, and the green one was stolen by the cleaners while I was in the hospital in late-2002.

IsaacHayes

Flashlight Enthusiast
First and currently only laser pointer, a red 5mW one, was purchased in 1998 at Target stores for $14 or $20. (can't remember which) Was a good deal at the time I believe.

Lightmania

Enlightened
my first laser pointer was in '97 or '98 for a hundred bucks from a radio shack. had tons of fun with that light until my brother broke the button on it a couple years later.

Lightmania

instinct

Newly Enlightened
I got my first in like 96? (red, >5mw) from frys electronics.. they were $20 which was an awesome deal at the deal (i remembered seeing them at staples for like $100 each)..

FNinjaP90

Enlightened
Got a 5mw from ebay in 2000 for $150. Was really disappointed by the weak output. I like my 120mw one just fine now though:)

IsaacHayes