It's time for LED home lighting!

Erasmus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi folks!

The efficiency of the new Cree XR-E LEDs exceeds all those of common home lighting (incandescent, halogen, fluorescent lamps) so I think it's time for LEDs to make their entry in this world. Plus these new Cree LEDs have a beam angle of 75°, which is ideal for this kind of lighting. Last week I started thinking about a reading lamp with XR-E's and I started drawing. I found someone on this forum who could possibly make the heatsink I wanted, so I started drawing and calculating. Today I finished the sketches and I was satisfied of the result :)

I have designed a reading lamp to mount on a Locline flexible stalk (http://www.locline.com/) the screw thread of the Locline connector can be directly screwed into the bottom of the heatsink, through which the wires come. The lamp contains 4 Cree XR-E LEDs which are directly mounted to the heatsink. There is also space for a 28.8mm lens (available from Flashlightlens.com). Diameter of the light is 38.8mm and the length is 70mm (needed for proper heatsinking of the LEDs). I will mount the XR-E's from my own sale (P4 flux bin, WH tint, very nice warm white tint and suitable for reading light). This lamp will consume around 4.4W and have a typical flux of 336 lumen which makes an efficiency of 76 lumen/W. Output will be comparable to a 30W incandescent lamp.

This afternoon I found the free 3D-drawing programme Sketchup (http://www.sketchup.com/) and I started experimenting with it. I just finished the drawing and it looks a lot better than my handmade sketches :)

Here's the result :

Sideview compared to the Cree LED :
1.jpg

Rounded edges on top :
2.jpg

A look at the naked heatsink/lamp :
3.jpg

Top view :
4.jpg

Who's peeping out there?
5.jpg

4 Cree XR-E's!
6.jpg

Top view of these little *******s :
7.jpg

Small surface for the lens to sit on (I'll buy a 28.8mm diffused lens from flashlightlens.com for this) :
8.jpg

Close-up inside the lamp :