ARC LS + XR-E

DFiorentino

Flashlight Enthusiast
So, I'm just getting into the XR-E bandwagon and figured I'd play around with some spare parts I had. Mix an Arc LS, FLUpic, P3 XR-E, and IMS17 and this is what you get…

dsc0615xm4.jpg

The following shots are taken 2' from back of light my tent at a fixed exposure. Sorry about the blooming. I wanted to take these at a farther distance, but the beam from this reflector is sooo wide, I couldn't move my camera setup back far enough to cature the whole spill area. (Plus, my room is a mess.)

Low…

dsc0610nq2.jpg

High…

dsc0609op8.jpg

Burst…

dsc0611yg6.jpg

dsc0618ha7.jpg

I LOVE the beam from this IMS17. It is great for close to midrange work. No unusably tight beam, no rings, no donuts. The home sputtering job was done using clear auto body paint. According to my dieing lightbox, I lost an insignificant amount of total light output. I also cutdown an McR18 to fit as well, with similar results, but the with the plastic IMS I don't have the contact shorting issues as with the aluminum McR.

Now for the embarrassing photo:

dsc0616hd3.jpg

The LED is actually elevated off of the emitter board using a cut and filed penny in order to prevent shorting the contact pads and to provide some thermal relief. Well, at 1.2A on burst, that little bit of copper is nowhere near enough. Light output initially starts out in the range of some of my V-bin LuxV's, but plummets quickly due to heat. Since I had it all AA'd together, I figured I'd just go whole hog and pot the whole mass. It helps stabilize the light output, but there is still a big enough drop that burst should only be used as it is titled…in bursts. Next time, I'll do better. This was more of an experiment for myself. Just getting my feet wet and testing the waters if you will. Actually, my first XR-E project was my RR lantern…now XR-E powered. :naughty:

-DF

EricMack

Flashlight Enthusiast