RC Trucks anyone?

PoliceScannerMan

Flashaholic
I was thinking of buying a traxxas RC monster truck. Looks fun, it goes up to 45 MPH, what doesnt sound fun about that? :laughing: My back yard is about an Acre, so I figure I can tear it up a bit.

Anyone else into this? How much maint. does the truck require? This one runs on 10% nitro fuel. BTW, total RC newbie here!

Razor

Newly Enlightened
The world of RC cars will be a whirlpool to your wallet, let me tell you. New cars, nitro, and mountains upon mountains of aftermarket parts for more speed, durability, or other sorts of performance. I used to be into it some years ago, but dropped away from it due to cost and the time it consumed.

I had a gas truck (HPI MT), and then an electric car (Associated TC3). Loved them both.

An E-maxx is a wonderful way to start. It's not gas, so it will be much less maintence intensive. One of the worst things about gas trucks is that their exhaust builds up all over their parts, and catches tons of dirt and grime. Electrics bypass this very nicely. You'll spend much less time having to clean grime off the truck and more time catching air.

But keep in mind, that you still will need to give a good deal of time to keeping the parts clean, especially any moving joints i.e. drive shaft, suspension arm hinge pins, and especially the transmission area.

But, know this: you will have a blast with that thing.

benchmade_boy

Flashlight Enthusiast