That was easy! (Installing Linux)

logicnerd411

Flashlight Enthusiast
All right, guess what I'm using? Mandrake Linux 9.1. The installation was very easy and took me lass than 30 minutes. WOW. Let's see if I can figure this thing out...

Saaby

Flashaholic
Went with Mandrake eh? I did Mandrake first but found there is much much more support out there for Redhat. Well ok I was a sucker for RPMs too and then somone said something to the effect of "You idiot, Mandrake supports RPMs"

Heh heh, that's ok.

Good luck and I hope you enjoy it. Are you dual booting?

logicnerd411

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yes, I'm dual booting with Windows XP. The problem was that 9.0 didn't have support with NTFS file systems (Windows XP) so I had to redownload 9.1 for two hours (thank goodness I have cable!)

RPM's? I'm new to this stuff, so I would like some help.

Tomas

Banned
Too bad you still have Windoze on the machine.
wink.gif

Good luck, and happy 'puting!
grin.gif

tomsig03.gif

-= MICROSOFT FREE ZONE =-

Saaby

Flashaholic
What you waiting for from UPS?

When you go to download stuff for Linux, or more specifically when you go to install it, you'll find it's a mess. The stuff isn't easy to install (for beginners anyway). The crutch that kept me running Linux was the RPM. RPM is for "Redhat Package Manager" and it brings point and click installing to Linux (although I'd reccomend you install RPMs from the Shell--it's much faster).

I hear bad things about RPMs--I mear it's really not a very good system at all but it'll work until you (And I) learn to get along without it.

Saaby

Flashaholic
But the first thing you want to learn to use is SU and CHMOD. I use these 2 commands more than anything else. Open a terminal window and type "SU". It'll ask for a Password, put in your root password (You DO have a separate root acount correct?) then you'll be logged in as Root.