Need an EDC knife. Newbie here.

bombelman

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm new to knives, but often enough I need to cut something.
Either a box with too much tape or some rope or belts used to tie things down that need to be removed in a hury. I'm in the media and broadcasting business also, so often enough, wires and cables are a hazard. I also do jobs in the Amazon jungle, but instead of haulin' a machete, I would just need a knife to cut some branches or pick some flowers for me lady. :)

It needs to fit in a belt holster and must not be too long so it will hinder when I sit. Foldable is fine, but when folded, the blade must not be seen, as not to frighten the unknown.

Thanks for your help !

Stingray

Flashlight Enthusiast
You have many good choices, check out bladeforums or knifeforums for lots of threads with pics.

Qben

Newly Enlightened
I don't know if this is exactly what you are looking for, but check out www.hideawayknife.com
One of the great things about these knives is that you don't have to put the knife down if you need to use your hands.
They have a custom fitted utility model for $70.
I bought one recently and it is all I ever see myself carrying from here on out.
Qben

Josey

Flashlight Enthusiast
You might want to check out these classics that are very popular with a wide range of knive enthusiasts:

Spyderco Military (4 inch blade, flat ground) in either standard S30V steel with G10 handles or the limited edition BG-42 steel and carbon fiber handle.

Benchmade's 710 in D2 (semi stainless) or CPM154 (stainless) with an axis lock is also an awesome knife.

A really heavy duty knife is the Spyderco Manix with a big leaf blade in S30V steel.

The Spyderco Caly III is a great cutter, too.

Benchmade's Rukus in S30V steel and an axis lock is a very large folder and is very rugged and well made.

9volt

Flashlight Enthusiast