Surefire Z2 combat light FAILED

cchurchi

Enlightened
I have a Surefire Z2 combat light that quit working last night, right before I was planning on taking it on a neighbor hood walk. The light is about 2 years old and I have only used it for about 2 hours total. I usually bring it as a backup light because I'm cheap when it comes to using lights that don't take rechargeables.

So I push the tailcap button to test it before we go and.... nothing. I hear a rattling sound coming from the tailcap; I disassemble it and find a nail like post that has worked itself free of the rubber tailcap. This is a pretty crappy design in my opinion. I was able to force the metal nail back into the tail cap when I got home later in the evening but I can no longer trust this light.

I own quite a few lights but this is the only Surefire. It's also the only light that has ever failed me. I usually carry a few cheaper Chinese lights and use the Surefire as a backup because Surefire has such a good reputation. Is the Z2 combat light crap or was I just unlucky? My new back up light is my Inova X5 until I can find something brighter that I can trust.

Anyone interested in a slightly unreliable Surefire?

dw51

Enlightened
Contact Surefire and let them know what happened. I'm sure they will take care of this for you. Don't be discouraged. They really are good lights.

leukos

Flashlight Enthusiast
Sounds like the LOTC came apart, that is very rarely reported here on CPF. Give SF a call, they will probably send you a new tailcap.

MikeSalt

Flashlight Enthusiast