LiPo cell, soldering problem

Jopi

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I recently was sucked into this world of DIY lights, and have now some lights assembled.

I was able to get hold on some powerful LiPo cells which I´m planning to use as power source. However, I´m having big difficulties in assembling battery packs. Positive tabs in LiPo cells seem to be aluminium, and normal solder doesn´t seem to "attach" to aluminium very well.

Does anybody have any experience with this? Should I use some some kind of connectors to attach the battery tabs instead of soldering?

DFiorentino

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF. :wave:

I have no personal experience, but I did happen to see some zinc solder from cheapbatterypacks.com that is specifically what you're looking for. It's at the bottom of the page.

-DF

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would not recommend soldering your own Lithium packs without some experience, they are very dangerous and volatile, there are precautions you have to take, I would recommend finding a cheap source to make you a pack, like a CPFer.

LuxLuthor

Flashaholic
65535 said:
I would not recommend soldering your own Lithium packs without some experience, they are very dangerous and volatile, there are precautions you have to take, I would recommend finding a cheap source to make you a pack, like a CPFer.

Words of Wisdom.

roadie

Enlightened
oh, sorrie i jus happened to see something i had to comment from that pic ....

the thing is u are using 'hot' glue to 'cover' the area .... it is not recommended as i used to do that also ..... but only at areas not heat directly connected at ....

u shld try Expoy instead as its more heat resistant than hot glue which will melt ... which i do now after many error tries :)

i am using Devcon Plastic Steel Epoxy (black color) when i need to 'cover' any electric area where stated can withstand a 125 degree celius heat .... ???? or similars .... where u can find via yr local hardware stores