TiNi coated flashlights?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bwcaw

Enlightened
Why doesn't anyone(Peter)put titanium nitride on their flashlights? It comes in
several different colors, and blows hard
anodizing out of the water as far as durability. Please don't mistake me for someone who knows what he is talking about,
grin.gif

i have no experience in plating or flashlight
making, and i was just curious if this would
work.
confused.gif

hawkins1965

Newly Enlightened
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bigwuss:
Why doesn't anyone(Peter)put titanium nitride on their flashlights? It comes in
several different colors, and blows hard
anodizing out of the water as far as durability. Please don't mistake me for someone who knows what he is talking about,
grin.gif

i have no experience in plating or flashlight
making, and i was just curious if this would
work.
confused.gif
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Is it the stuff they now use on mountain bike shocks and they also inlay teflon to make it slick?

Silviron

Flashlight Enthusiast
I suggested this in an earlier ARC thread- I think it would be great!

PVD ("Physical" or "Plasma" Vapor Deposition) {older term is "sputtering"} of various metal nitrides is a pretty neat process, can be done on aluminum (or any platable surface that doesn't melt at under about 400F). It is actually quite inexpensive to do in quantities, and results in an attractive, "super-durable" surface.

The gold color coating most commonly seen is Titanium Nitride; Zirconium Nitride is also usually somewhat lighter gold color (although I have seen some accidental, really neat, metallic rainbow effects with the ZrN).

The grey or "flat black" color coatings are usually Titaniun Carbo-Nitride or Chromium Nitride, and Aluminum-Titanium nitride is kind of a metallic greyish green, although some companies doing PVD for primarily decorative purposes have been able to come up with some different colors.

Quickbeam