Any problem with mixing old and new batteries?

len

Newly Enlightened
Hi,​

Newbie here, I have a batch of 8 AA Zinc Carbon cells that came with a RC toy transmitter. These cells lasted only a short while before tx stop functioning. I checked on DMM and found they still have 1.2v in them but unable to use on tx. Thinking that it may be wasteful to throw them away, I took one of these 1.2v cell and mixed with 7 new Duracell Alkaline batteries that were tested in the 1.6v range and tx's LED was flashing full bar. On the next time when tx was flashing low on LED, I re-tested all batteries and found Duracells at 1.4v and the Zn Carbon at 0.001v, I did not notice any problem with leakage or anything when I ran the Zn carbon batt to almost zero v, I'm wondering if what I did really save me some dollars on new cells or is it dangerous practice?

Len

Phredd

Enlightened
I'm pretty sure I've seen the warning a number of times not to mix battery types or used with new batteries for fear of leakage. I assume it puts more of a strain on the batteries since they're not all pulling their weight.

Phredd

cutlerylover

Banned
Yeah time after time I also hear DONT mix new and used batteries, or different brands...As far as alkalines go I have done it before myself and never had a problem, but I do not want to push my luck, and now after reading up on flashlights and batteries in general I do NOT mix old and new or different brands...

VidPro

Flashlight Enthusiast
the battery might have read 1.2v , but its capacity was likly depleated.
there is that "recovery" thing, where if you were drawing off it harder than it can take it, it will droop down, yet still have some capacity.

when you put that cell with the newer alkalines , you probably got a little blip of power out of it , but you also set it up for a reverse charge, which could cause it to leak (more likely) so your kinda encouraging a mostly dead battery to leak on you.