DIY Handpower LED Crank Light

joecarrow

Newly Enlightened
Hi All, I'm still quite new to CPF, so I appreciate your patience with my obvious questions.

I've recently decided that I'm interested in designing and building my own flashlight. My original intention was to locate the most state of the art LED I could find, and mate it with one or more 18650 cells. I have prior experience with these cells professionally, so it seemed like a minor jump to put them into a flashlight.

In my search for a bleeding edge LED, I discovered this forum. It quickly became apparent to me that I'm not the first to think of this kind of flashlight, and the market is practically flooded with such lights. I like doing things a little differently, and I really can't devote the resources as an independent Joe to surpass the attention to detail of the companies described in the LED sticky thread.

My original thread is here, and I have since decided that a Cree XR-E is probably the LED I was looking for.

Since I'm not satisfied with doing what everyone else has done, I said- why not make a hand-powered light that's a little bit more? I've been doing some research on the matter, and I found a thread about a bleeding edge shake-light, and a mag-light modified with crank generator.

I guess the main thing I'm asking in this thread is- has anybody seen another project like this? Do you have any suggestions where to look?

What would people be interested in for a documented project?

That's all for now, thanks!

easilyled

Flashaholic
This sounds an excellent idea.

You could use either Cree-XRE's or Seoul SSC-P4-Ubins.

I've seen one or two manufactured with far less powerful Nichia leds and
they also look a bit delicate and as if they could break easily.

What I would be interested in was for one that's built like a tank, virtually
bomb-proof and that can take a lot of force from the motion that charges
it up.

In addition if it could store the charge so it could light up for quite a long