Need advice on a MilkyMod

SCblur

Enlightened
I'm saving money for a milky project-M light, but I'm not sure what to get. I'm kinda new to the project-M stuff, and I don't completely understand the chart. I was wondering if you experts in milkymod lights could answer some questions for me?

I'm thinking of something like an M375. I want the ability to run it off of multiple batter configurations. 1x18650, 2x18650, 2x18500, 3xcr123. Is this possible?

Also, I most definitely want something dual stage. How is this done. Tailcap? I haven't seen these tailcaps for sale anywhere. How low would the low beam be on an M375? Would the low be regulated also? Is there any other way for multiple stages, or are tailcaps the answer? Where are such tailcaps found?

For those of you who have them, how does the throw/beam pattern of a light like this compare to the U2 (my favorite beam pattern). I'm looking at one of these mods to replace my U2, so I want something with decent throw, but that wonderful "ram of light" the U2 is known for, with lots of good sidespill. I'll be using this mod a lot for camping and hiking, so good sidespill is also important.

In your opinions, is the M375 a good candidate for this? Is it something that will work well for camping, and something I can get long runtimes from when desired?

Lastly, I didn't see this configuration on the chart. How is the runtime for a M375 on 1x18650 and 2x18650?

I know that's a lot, any help you guys can offer is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Josh

MarNav1

Flashlight Enthusiast
Give him a call, he will answer any question you have and he's a real nice person. I just
talked with him about my L1.

skalomax

Flashlight Enthusiast
I had a Surefire U2 and Had 2 M375's, Still have one.

The Beam Pattern of a M375 With McR16's (What he usually uses) Is Unbelievable. Great Flood, But with so much output It throws much more than a U2. I have ran It on 1x18650 for a small compact monster and 2x18650 for a long runtime beast.