Gladius carry mods

ResidentWeevil

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,
Courtesy of reviews and feedback on this forum, I have been using a Gladius as my only duty light for the past 7-8 months. It is faultless in itself and beats the ploppy of my oppo's maglite....BUT the carrying system leaves a lot to be desired.

I have the Night Ops quick release hard holster and the rubber restraining strap has broken on it, and now the plastic link on the lanyard has parted company. The light has already dropped off my belt during scuffles/pursuits and has only been found by sheer luck which I do not expect to hold out.:awman:

Have Gladius owners out there found better carrying platforms for their lights? It must be quick access and not MOLLE type fitments. A belt fitment might be the best. I would REALLY apreciate any pointers.

The second prob is the plastic lanyard clip on the retainers that came with the light. I am looking for some kind of a METAL quick link connector which breaks apart at about 10 pounds of pressure. It needs to respond to a simple pull and no fine motor coordination should be needed, like pressing buttons or pulling back swivels. Any idea if there is such a thing out there? I need to be able to pull the light off the lanyard, and use it freehand, and then simply relink it to the connector when finished.

Warmest Regards

RemingtonBPD

Enlightened
I also carry the Gladius on my duty belt, but have not had problems with the holster. I never even used the rubber strap. I noticed that when putting the light back into the holster though, if you do not slide the flat sides in through the side clips they eventually stretch...so I make sure to slide it in by the flat sides on the light. The only other thing I can think of is a nylon holster...which looks lousy with leather gear.

depusm12

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have the nylon open top holster for the Gladius/ Insight and it sucks. I too am looking for another holster. I'm leaning toward a custom made kydex holster.