2-way radio recommendation

stockae92

Enlightened
i am looking for a pair of the 2-way radio and seeking recommendation.

- i might use it when skiing, so they should be somewhat weather proof
- rechargeable (Li ion, no need to worry about battery memory effect. and universal voltage. able to use off the alkaline in case of emergency would be nice)
- good range (i don't know what the standard now) with sub-channel (less chance of interference, do they have something like coded channel so that there is no interference at all?)
- smaller in size
- headset/hand free operation would be nice

i am a newbie to this.

CLHC

Flashaholic
Yes to wanting to know too! I am in need of such for this coming June 1, 2, 3. Don't know bo diddly squat about these FRS.

GarageBoy

Flashlight Enthusiast
Get your GRMS license, grab a pair of Icom F21 GMRS (yea, they're $150 each) and forget all about those cheezy little blisterpack radios (if not, theyre all the same, just make sure you get one which uses AA batteries or equivalent as higher input power usually translates into higher output power)

Eskimonio

Newly Enlightened
GarageBoy speak truth... Icom is very well known for quality and range.

HOWEVER, if you, like me, don't want to spend $300 for a pair of handhelds, I think you'll be really pleased with these units for $39.90:

http://shop4.outpost.com/product/4885200;jsessionid=klID3jyruVedrS9-jhh-lg**.node1?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Make no mistake, these aren't "bare bones" or lower-end Motorola units. They very often go for $100+ http://wirelesspro.stores.yahoo.net/mot7aatabl2p.html

Certainly there will be NO COMPARISON to ICOMs, but I use these recreationally for camping, hiking, kayaking, etc. and don't need HAM Radio range.