LED types/brightest Flashlight help

Bob_lahblah

Newly Enlightened
Ok, I an very green to the expansive world of high powered flashlights. For my birthday I was given a Surefire G2 Nitrolon. Now it is very bright but i was blown away when I read the bulb life to be 60min. Am I reading this right?

I looked up the LED conversion head and it is $145.00usd (maybe a little less if i looked around online a little more)

I work in the film industry and i really want a very bright flashlight/torch it is useful in dark sound stages and I want one with some good throw. However I would like an LED "bulb".

I have been reading and the Cree seem to be the best/brightest. Is this right?

Could someone briefly explain the different types of LED's, and suggest the top 10 or 15 Brightest LED flashlights/torches.

ACMarina

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF!!

First off, the bulb in your G2. Batteries will last about an hour in that one. Bright, but not long lasting.

Cree and Seoul are the most up-to-date LED lights right now. Either one would work pretty well, IMO, depending on the light they are in.

As far as recommending lights, I've found that on a dark set MOST of the folks were using Minimags. Bright isn't the most-desired option, and an X5T did me pretty well. As far as best and brightest, I'd say the U-04 Barbolight throws best for a standard LED. 27LT-S is a good all around light, and Surefire's L4 is a great bright flood light.

Bob_lahblah

Newly Enlightened
I am looking for a bright light to read numbered tags on lights hanging from lighting grids overhead. i have been using a mini mag but it is just to dim. Thanks for the suggestion, this forum is a very good resource. Are there any brands of LEDs or flashlights that are very poor quality or tend to malfunction?

Long John

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello Bob_lahblah and welcome to CPF:)

The brightest Led-lights you can find are Custom-builds with multiple Led-arrays.