Newbie here, introducing myself

KingGlamis

Banned
Hey all,
My name is Doug and I have read this board many times and finally decided to join. We go camping a lot, as in 2-3 times a month normally, so as you know, flashlights are important when camping. My wife teases me because I have around 20+ flashlights and I'm always looking to buy another one. But whenever someone needs a flashlight in camp I always have one (or two) handy, so they don't joke when they need one. And the family was sure glad when the power went out in the house and we had enough flashlights to make it through until the power came on again.

I know some of you may laugh, but I do own many "cheap" flashlights that I consider throw-aways. If I lose or break a cheap one, no big deal. But I also have some Mag lights and four DeWalt 18V work lights (see pic below). Those DeWalts may not have a good light pattern, but the battery lasts a long, long time. And when you have four of them, that's a lot of hours worth of light. I once helped a friend pull his engine and transmission and then put them both back in the car in the middle of the desert with only the one DeWalt and the battery held up for the whole process (even though I had three spares just in case).

The DeWalts I have:
DW919_3.jpg

So anyway, I have tinkered with modifying flashlights and have thought of building my own, and I know this is the best place to get and share knowledge. So I look forward to reading the tons of info here and sharing my projects.

Take care all,
Doug

CLHC

Flashaholic
Hey Welcome to CPF! Enjoy your stay here. Lots and lots of things/stuffs to learn around here. . .

jumpstat

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome KingGlamis,

Just watch your wallet and tear up all your credit cards!!

Only kidding. Glad to have you onboard.

KingGlamis

Banned
Welcome KingGlamis,

Just watch your wallet and tear up all your credit cards!!

Only kidding. Glad to have you onboard.