Maxpedition - Knives and Tools
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Photos of Protected Lithium Batteries

Default Photos of Protected Lithium Batteries

I made a post in Sosa's thread about the exploded battery in his Fenix light (nothing wrong with the Fenix), and got 3 PM's from people recommending I make this thread showing the images so people understand what a "Protected" & "Unprotected" Lithium battery looks like. If the moderators feel this is cross posting, please close the topic.

Quote Originally Posted by KingGlamis View Post
    I'm a relative newbie. Can you explain the difference between protected and unprotected cells? I have RCR123As with the name Powerizer on them. Doesn't say where they were MFG-ed. But they do have a plastic "wrap" on them and what appears to be two vent holes on the positive end. Are these protected cells?
    It's a very good and important question. When we say "Protected" we mean a separate computer chip that is added and gives a cutoff (breaks the circuit in the battery from completing) if the voltage goes too low, the voltage goes too high, the current amperate goes too high, and the cell temperature rises too high.

I sacrificed a Year Old (Current improved model has new features) of AW's 14670 cell to show you exactly what this means.

Click on the thumbnail images below. AW starts with a normal UNprotected cell in blue plastic which he also sells. These have the vent holes which help release pressure if the temperature rises, and gas expands. That means the starting blue, unprotected cell just has high temp venting protection (as far as I know).

Now note there is a thin computer chip on the bottom under a metal disc. One end is welded to the bottom (Negative Terminal) of the blue battery, and the other end uses a thin contact strip to run along the side and attach on the top Positive terminal.