Installing 46 lcd screen on wall - need longer power cable

Arkayne

Enlightened
I'm no electrical expert but I know it uses a C7 Polarized cable and I can't find a length longer than 6ft! Does anyone have a source for a cable like this?

AC Power Cord NEMA 1-15 Plug to IEC 60320 C7 Connector Polarized 2 Meter ~ 6 Feet 2.5a/125v 18/2 SPT-2

3635.jpg

http://www.stayonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=2889

BIGIRON

Flashlight Enthusiast
If it wouldn't be unsightly, just get an quality extension cord from Lowe's, Home Depot, etc. Not the 18ga $1.99 ones -- the ones made for window airconditioners. Overkill, but better too much than not enough.

Or, just cut the original cable and splice in what you need.

Or, use a surge protector (probably should do this anyway).

Arkayne

Enlightened
It's for a work installation and I have to keep the wires as clean as possible. The wires will be routed through the wall and I don't think the management would like me hacking away at the wires. :( I don't know why it's so hard to find a length longer than 6ft! I did find an 8 footer but it was on a high-end audio shop and cost $175. booooo

BIGIRON

Flashlight Enthusiast
That should be available at the electrical/computer supply stores. I have an Altex near that I use. www.altex.com has 4 pages of power cords on it's website.

WNG

Enlightened
If you can't find a longer molded version of that cord, you should be able to buy the ends and create your own. That's a pretty standard 2-conductor polarized jack.

Do a search of appliance jacks.

Besides, you'll drill a smaller hole through the wall for just the cable, neater.

bombelman

Flashlight Enthusiast
It's for a work installation and I have to keep the wires as clean as possible. The wires will be routed through the wall and I don't think the management would like me hacking away at the wires.
I installed my HT system myself and ran many many wires through the wall.
All cables that needed to be extended were extended by cutting the