Army life lessons: Carry a flashlight

Paul_in_Maryland

Flashlight Enthusiast
Washington Post columnist Tom Ricks has posted a list of Ten Life Lessons the Army Has Taught Me. Guess what's Lesson 1?
Always have a notepad, pen, watch, knife, and flashlight on hand. In life, as in the Army, there are always unforeseen events. An important note needs [to be] taken, you need the precise time, something needs fixed, or you just can't find your way. All these items are small, cheap, and lifesavers when you have them and deal breakers when you don't.​

cernobila

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yeah, the same kind of lesson I got when I worked as a security officer and I am sure its the same for LEO's as well, I would change the "knife" for a "multi-tool" such as one of the Leatherman's etc. Even today I try to carry most of the mentioned items......as well as a mobile phone......

Hodsta

Flashlight Enthusiast
I carry a Lowe Alpine compact camera case - inside is a P4 modded HDS EDC, a small SAK (including bottle opener & corkscrew!), an Attwood prybaby, Firesteel, Fisher Pen, Antiseptic wipe, plasters, Neurofen, £20 note, 3 123 cells and two 50p coins. A H3 glowring and photon keychain are attached to the zippers.

If I am at work it lives in my laptop bag and if I'm camping or walking it lives on my belt backed up by a more useful knife and a TiPD-S.

The light and the corkscrew have come in handy on numerous occasions, which thankfully is a sign that the biggest emergency I have had to face is opening a bottle of wine round the campfire! But............

btw......is Tom Ricks a Lt Col or just a Captain of the Obvious?

Last edited:

Lightraven

Flashlight Enthusiast
That's kind of funny. My supervisor once asked me to sign something and I told him I didn't have a pen (and certainly not a notebook). He said, "Aren't you Army officers always supposed to have a pen and notepad?" I never was a posterboy for the Army.