Help with E2L Cree!!!

J

jcompton

I just recently purchased an E2L Cree and after seeing the regulated runtime with the AW 17670 Li-Ion batteries :wow: I am now considering the purchase of a couple of the rechargeables along with a charger and whatever else would be necessary to keep a setup like this running.

I am new to the world of high-output torch lights and the only other light of this caliber that I own is a U2 Ultra, but that has only seen primaries. I also own a few MagLights that I have seemingly had forever: 3-D cell, 6-D cell and a couple of the little AAA and (2x) AA ones. All the MagLights are being used as shipped from the factory w/ no mods. I know very little about the rechargeables and what equipment is necessary to keep them running efficiently for a long period of time.

I have been searching the forum for all the information I can find regarding this topic but the search button seems to only allow one word searches???:shrug:

It is my understanding that the E2L body that ships with the KX2 head will not allow the protected AW 17670 batteries to fit, and require some boring. Rather than bore out the body I was wondering if the body of the previous E2L (shipped with KL1 head) would allow the protected 17670 to fit without any modification to the battery or body. Removing a sticker is ok, but I would rather not use sand paper on the battery to avoid boring the body.

Another reason I would rather not bore out the body of the E2L is for warrantee purposes, but I would purchase another body, to keep my serialized one intact, and if need be I would bore out the extra one. I have found an individual who is looking to get rid of an older E2L body and if someone could measure the diameter of an AW Protected 17670 at its widest point (where the seems overlap), I would then be able to have the current owner measure the body and have confirmation prior to purchase.