Why buy

hkbladelawhk

Newly Enlightened
I've been curious, and figured I'd post some questions:
What do you use your laser for?
When I think of laser, I think of laser pointers, used for, well, pointing...
Why the hell buy a $200 laser pointer?

comozo

Enlightened
I wonder my self. It would seem that the main reason is too burn something specifically balloons and matches, black tape and trash bags.
What makes me incredulous even more are the guys that have this weird fascination for flashlights

Last edited:

Hemlock Mike

Enlightened
I have been making lasers for 30+ years when it was all high voltage. I am building some small red and green to try mixing colors. True -- the parlor tricks are fun too. Theres also NdYAG, CO2, ArIon to play with and learn optics.
As for "flashlights, you haven't looked at what they are doing !! The HID technology is great. I have a 35 watt HID (arc) light which is supurb !!!

Keep an open mind to new ideas.

Mike

AJ_Dual

Enlightened
I've been curious, and figured I'd post some questions:
What do you use your laser for?
When I think of laser, I think of laser pointers, used for, well, pointing...
Why the hell buy a $200 laser pointer?

For the same reason people buy $80,000 sports cars when a $12,000 economy sub-compact will get them to work and to the grocery store just as well.

Genxsis

Newly Enlightened
I must say I've wondered the same thing. I don't have a high power laser, only a 4mw one. I find the powerful ones very fascinating in theory, but when I think of buying one, I only imagine myself doing things that would get me in trouble! You know, annoying the neighbors, flattening a noisy neighbor's car tire, starting someone's hair on fire :naughty: