HID M@g Project?

PhilM

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, I'm new so please be gentle :p

I'm an aircraft engineer and I spend a lot of time working nights. A good torch is essential to my job, and I started with a 3D mag, which was good (so much better than other cheap torches). I've now upgraded it with a MagLED 3D drop in module, which has made a much nicer colour of light, and the batteries now last forever! (I now change them every month, rather than every week!).

Anyway, I'll still be keeping my MagLED 3D torch, but I am very interested in a HID torch now, having seen some of the beamshots on here, they look awesome.

I've a few questions, I've done some basic reading, and seen a few conversions, and would now like to either have someone build me, or build me own HID mag.

I'm not really fussed on size, so 2D or 3D would be fine, people often seem to use the 2Ds? Why not opt for the larger torch? Is it just that you'd end up with the wrong voltage by having the extra cell?

Am I right in my understanding that with something like the Solarc 10W simply you require, a ballast, the bulb, a switch and a powersource? I'm not too familiar in people overdriving them?

Ideally I'd like to keep the light looking standardish, I guess obvious upgrades will be the reflector and the lense.

Anyone got any tips or advice? I am really impressed by the results of this build; https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/154834

Many thanks

Phil

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
had an UK Light Cannon 100 bought some years ago (that time the Solarc was not to be purchased anywhere else).
Got the MR bulb (wide) too.

Finally made the light last winter and am heavily disappointed.
While bright, my single Cree P4 @ 1 A seems equal (but makes a smaller spot, of course) but the main ciritc is, that the HID makes such an awful green light.

Better build Yourself a three or quad Led light, way better light with the same runtime than the HID, the Mag makes the ideal host for such

scott.cr